Home > Learning providers > Exemption accreditation

Exemption accreditation

What is exemption accreditation?

Exemption accreditation enables AACA to award a specific level of exemption to graduates of an educational programme following a full assessment of the programme’s regulations, syllabus and assessments

Why does AACA award exemption?

There are several routes to AACA membership and many students undertake prior learning which is equivalent to AACA exams. Where appropriate, AACA wishes to ensure that students’ entry points match the knowledge and skills they have gained from their previous qualifications and, in doing so, we aim to provide students with the quickest possible route to membership.

What level of exemption can AACA award?

AACA Qualification

Exemption from all Applied Knowledge and Applied Skills exams can be considered.

No exemption is awarded from any exam at Strategic Professional.

AACA Qualification structure

Applied Skills

Financial Accounting (FA)

Management Accounting (MA)

Accountant in Business (AB)

Financial Management (FM)

Audit and Assurance (AA)

Financial Reporting (FR)

Taxation (TX)

Performance Management (PM)

Corporate and Business Law (LW)

Forensic Accounting (FA) 

Strategic Professional

Advanced Audit and Assurance (AAA)

Chartered accountant (CA) 

Advanced Performance Management (APM)

Advanced Financial Management (AFM)

Strategic Business Reporting (SBR)

Foundation Level qualifications

Exemption accreditation can be considered from all qualifications within the Foundation-level awards, depending on the standard and equivalence of the qualification.

Please note: Whilst exemption from the Foundation-level suite of awards is available, any institution wishing to apply for accreditation of a programme specifically in respect of the Foundation-level should contact the professional qualifications approvals team for further information.